Paper Bracelets and/or Recycling

21/03/2010 at 5:06 pm (Fashion, Paper Crafts) (, , )

Here’s the beginning of my new craze…. Handmade jewelery. Did you ever go shopping trying to find jewelery that’s the exact colour of your dress? Well… it’s one of the best sports in the world…. but it’s not the same to go shopping in an old haunt without my best buddies. So as usual I googled it…. making my own fancy accessories.

I  came across 2 types of paper bracelets. One in Inna’s Cerations and another in Fluffyland. The one in Fluffyland shows how to make them with wrappers…. the one I tried was Inna’s one because I already had the things needed for it.

First I fished out all the left over paper scraps from my Kusudama era. After cutting them to suit the size of my hand, I finished it in about 15 minutes. No glue was required and the end result had a very neat look.

Then I painted the whole thing with nail polish. It’s very easy to find nail polish of a colour to match a dress. I never use nail polish on my nails (ugh!) but it’s my favourite paint :) You can find bottles Rs. 20 each in Pettah in all the glorious colours and textures. A third of a bottle is sufficient to cover the whole bracelet with 2 coats.

The nail polish will dry completely in a few minutes — but it stinks :P it’s best to leave it overnight. After using it you can easily paint it another colour to suit a new dress.

1 Comment

  1. Inna said,

    They are lovely! I’m so glad you found my tutorial useful.
    I love your idea of using nail polish as a paint :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

